Moleskine JournalA life worth living is worth recording. Anthony Robbins

Sitting in a tent in the Alaskan Wilderness, all chores are completed.  The camp was set up, the kayaks were tied to a tree on shore, tents were pitched, and sleeping bags were unpacked.  I had brought one book, which would not last long.  From the adjacent tent, a family friend called out, saying she was writing in her journal, and she brought an extra one for me.  Journal writing is stupid, I thought to myself.  But since there was nothing better to do, I got up, got the journal, and began to write about whatever was on my mind.

Journal writing is an invaluable life experience.

Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn’t wait to get to work in the morning: I wanted to know what I was going to say. Sharon O’Brien

As I continued to write, ideas I had been fixated on became expressed.   I found myself able to let them go.  Seeing them written in front of me caused a shift in my perspective.  Suddenly I became an observer, looking down on my thoughts unattached, as a child spots his house from the window of a plane.  With my new found distance the fixation melted away, freeing my mind to evolve toward newer and greater ideas.  This evolution continues today.

Writing down a problem increases your awareness of it.  With awareness, internal problems solve themselves.

Keeping a journal can resolve emotional conflicts as well.  Occasionally, if there is something I cannot seem to get off my chest, I will write a letter to someone in my journal.  Even though I am the only one who will ever read it, it is an amazingly cathartic experience.  By writing down my problems in a private place I achieve a state of inner calm and relaxation.  The inner difficulty solves itself.  If the problem is exterior of myself, I usually think of its solution while I write about it.

The act of writing can be a lightning rod for bolts of intuition.

Writing your thoughts allows you to access them in a novel way.  This shift in perspective is extremely powerful in generating new ideas, and gaining clarity on old ones.  Keeping a journal has many practical uses as well:

  • Aids in constructing new memories, and gives cues for remembering past events.
  • Gives you perspective on your actions. Often unidentified behavior patterns can arise, such as spending too much time on non-meaningful activities.
  • Gives you a gauge of your spiritual and intellectual development.
  • Helps you to appreciate life more fully.
  • It’s much cheaper than therapy.
  • They’re a blast to read later in life!

Whether you keep a journal to record a trip overseas, the events of daily life, or only use it to solve problems, it can change your life if you let it.  Make journal writing a habit.  30 minutes every other day is all that’s needed, and can be fit in to even the busiest schedules.

Learn as much by writing as by reading. Lord Acton

-Aids in constructing new memories, and gives cues for remembering past events.

-Gives you perspective on your actions.  Often unidentified behavior patterns can arise, such as spending too much time on non-meaningful activities.

-Gives you a gauge of your spiritual and intellectual development.

-Helps you to appreciate life more fully.

-It’s much cheaper than therapy.

-They’re a blast to read later in life!

